FAQ  •  Search  •  Register   •  Profile  •  Log in to check your private messages  •  Log in 
Ghostwheel - Newborn (A Depeche Mode cover album)

Post new topic   Reply to topic    depeche-mode-world.de - Forum -> Off Topic Talk
Previous Topic Other than DM :: Honestly... Next Topic
Ghostwheel

PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 10:11 pm    Post subject: Ghostwheel - Newborn (A Depeche Mode cover album) Reply with quote

Greetings!

My name is Ghostwheel and I am a New York-based producer / recording artist. Being a long-time Depeche Mode fan, whose artistic life has been tremendously influenced by the band, I had embarked on an ambitious project to record a Depeche Mode cover album for my debut release. The album is now finished and released on Minor Key Records, and I wanted to stop by and give you the heads up about this new exciting project.

The album is simply called Newborn (A Depeche Mode cover album) and was recorded during most of 2006 and the first half of 2007. Newborn was produced, engineered and mixed by me and mastered by Scott Hull (Garbage, John Mayer).

Newborn contains 10 Depeche Mode covers that may just surprise you as the songs are radically interpreted, yet instantly recognizable. My principal objectives were to reinvigorate some of Depeche Mode’s more obscure songs, while reinventing some of their universal classics. Thus, on Newborn, you can find a minimalist, ethereal It’s No Good, a dreamy, yet aggressive I Feel Loved, and a piano-based symphonic Get Right With Me. In parallel, you will hear a richly produced, guitar-driven Sea Of Sin, an almost techno-inspired Behind The Wheel, a poppy, but oddly-nuanced It Doesn’t Matter Two, and a classic synthpop Sometimes. Finally, the collection is completed by a sneaky, industrial Newborn (the title track), and two uniquely intriguing renditions of The Darkest Star.